Choose a Category
Samsung Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Galaxy 551

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Samsung.

Galaxy 551

The touch screen makes it easy to access the mobile features including apps, as well as navigate the mobile with intuitive ease. The one-stop social hub is the go-to place for all social communications, whether you emailing someone, sending an SMS or MMS, connecting through SNS or initiating Instant Messenger. You can expand the functionality of your mobile with choice of applications, now available for downloading from the Android Market™ and the Samsung App Store. You can enjoy exploring different world right from your mobile. Compose a message and then select the method of transmission and recipient Universal text composer for SNS, calendar, memo and text messages. Mobile Office support provides Email/Calendar/Contact List Sync, IT Policy support and Data protection. Take amazing snapshots with 3MP camera. Share multimedia files between PC, TV seamlessly and wirelessly.
Rating:
3.611 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 18 reviews
5 stars
3
4 stars
8
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
0
11 out of 18(61%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Galaxy 551
Review 1 for Galaxy 551
Customer Avatar
From india
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great product,98% satified

Posted23 June, 2011
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted23 June, 2011
" just purchased my mobile, 1 week old, this is a great phone , i recommend this product, i wish that battery should give more back up, it work for 1.5 days when multimedia features are used. "
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive
Cons: Not high def
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
Galaxy 5 I5503
3.2 out of 5(10)
 
 
 
Wave 525
4.2 out of 5(116)
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Galaxy 551
Customer Avatar
From India
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

best in this price category

Posted5 June, 2011
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted5 June, 2011
" im totally satisfied wiyh this.. this phone gives you superior quality sound images video. fast internet browsing. querty keypad . exellnt touch. android... "
Pros: Built-in speakers, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Not high def
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Galaxy 551
Customer Avatar
From Kochi
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

99% Satisfied

Posted22 May, 2011
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted22 May, 2011
" 1% dissatisfaction because of absence of Video Call. Thumbs up for all features of the phone "
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Galaxy 551
Customer Avatar
From hyderabad
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

modify galaxy 551

Posted16 August, 2011
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted16 August, 2011
" Sir/madam,
i really like this phone bt i feel it would more better if it has flash
please make a mobile having same common features like slide QWERTY, touch ,android as well as camera with flash like nokia c6
"
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Galaxy 551
Customer Avatar
From mumbai, india
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

battery usage and playlist creation

Posted14 July, 2011
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted14 July, 2011
" Battery runs hardly for a day, when mail accounts are in sync throughout the day.
For creating playlist we need to browse the files and folder, instead all songs come in one list very very difficult to select the songs.
"
Pros: Inexpensive, Realistic color, great processor
Cons: battery usage
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Galaxy 551
Customer Avatar
From gujarat,bharuch
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

battery backup is not so good........

Posted17 June, 2011
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted17 June, 2011
" i am satisfied with its features but battery backup is not good..... "
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: bad battery backup
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Galaxy 551
Customer Avatar
From Mumbai
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Samsung Galaxy 551

Posted2 June, 2011
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted2 June, 2011
" Samsung Galaxy 5510 is a good value for money Android Phone:
Pros: Qwerty Keypad, Android 2.2 Froyo, Value for money
Cons: Poor Battery Life and no video calls. Surprisingly, Samsung has advertised on the phone package that it has SWYPE but it seems to be missing in the phone.
It has all the features that a smart phone should have but poor battery life is its main drawback. One of the best smartphones if battery issue can be resolved with another battery.
Looking forward for Android 2.3 update on this model. "
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight, value for money
Cons: Poor quality, battery
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Galaxy 551
Customer Avatar
From Pune, Maharashtra
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Its a good bundle

Posted22 May, 2011
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted22 May, 2011
" Everything excellent but for battery.gives me one day using wifi, chatting, gps and widgets. "
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive
Cons: battery
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Galaxy 551
Customer Avatar
From Pune, India
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice phone with very comfortable querty

Posted8 May, 2011
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted8 May, 2011
" I have been using this phone for 2 months now and 90% satisifed with the phone....
Pros: Anroid 2.2 Froyo with enough RAM to run applications smoothly, GPS works very well.
Cons: Processor ... a faster processor could have rocked this handset...
Overall experience : Very good phone if you are looking for an Anroid 2.2 with Querty in 10 - 12 k budget
Sachin "
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight, anroid 2.2, ram, confortable querty, a-gps
Cons: 667 mhz processor is a bit low for multi-tasking
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Galaxy 551
Customer Avatar
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good

Posted19 April, 2011
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted19 April, 2011
" good , but if it have video calling option it would be fine "
Pros: Bright display
Cons: Not high def
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Galaxy 551
Customer Avatar
From Hyderabad
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Buy only if you want Android 2.2 with Qwerty

Posted9 March, 2011
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted9 March, 2011
" I am using this phone since two months now. It is not a good choice to opt this phone. The phone is missing a lot of features:
Two way call recording not supported (hardware incapability)
Live wallpapers not supported (hardware incapability)
Average looks
Keeps on hanging (every 2-3 days) and requires restart
Touch screen doesn't respond while charging (sometimes)
Touch screen glows green while charging (sometimes)
Lacks good battery backup, 1500mAh was needed!
Device is quite slow
Slide Qwerty is not as comfortable as Blackberry or Sony Ericson Experia Mini Pro x10.
"
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive
Cons: Too big, Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Galaxy 551
Customer Avatar
From Ahmedabad, Gujarat, India
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Battery Backup, Heating, OS Update

Posted2 August, 2011
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted2 August, 2011
" It is really true that the battery backup is very less in browsing and when you use 3G Network. Even it is not 360 minutes as per Samsungs claim. The version update has not been released yet. So you don't get any value addition here. It is the worst product I have seen in the samsung products I am using so far. "
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Galaxy 551
Customer Avatar
From pune
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Posted8 July, 2011
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted8 July, 2011
" I used this handset from last 5 months.It is good handset but battery backup is major issue. if it utilized full it is worked only for 1 day. "
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
Cons: Not high def
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Galaxy 551
Customer Avatar
From Hyderabad
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A phone with a poor battery life and a strange issue

Posted19 May, 2011
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted19 May, 2011
" I am using this phone since 15 days and i would say i am 60% happy with this phone because whatever features samsung has given in this phone is not worthy unless they provide a good battery.
Positives:
1.Android 2.2 at this price range.
2. Sliding keyboard
3. Almost all the smart phone feature except video calling.
4.Touchscreen (Awesome)
Negatives:
1.A worst battery.Samsung says its 1200 mAH battery.But i need to recharge it twice a day with 5-6 calls and arround 1 hours GPRS uses.Even Wi-fi,GPS and bluetooth is off.
2. Camera--Dont buy this phone if you are looking for a camera phone.Image quality is VGA level.
3.System is bit slow.I think 667 mhz proccesor is not enough for a typical android phone.Ram is only 283 MB.
The biggest issue is....I used to charge my phone upto100%.But immediate after i unplug it from socket the battery will drain to 85% within 10 minutes though i keep the mobile idle during this period.I don't who is eating 15% battery in 10 minutes.When i went to service service center with this horrible problem they replaced the battery.But still the problem is there.Now i am really confused whether this problem is because of battery..or the mobile or the android OS.But i feel i wasted my money. "
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, responsive touch screen
Cons: battery, camera, slow processor
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Galaxy 551
Customer Avatar
From Mumbai, India
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Great look but more features are needed

Posted27 April, 2011
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted27 April, 2011
" Overall features are good but few points need to consider before buying.
Available in pink color not in black colour
No inbuilt flash
No proxy setting for Android market and background data
Less battery backup
Apps are good but most important apps are paid and not free
Android updates ??
"
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color
Cons: Not high def, Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Galaxy 551
Customer Avatar
From India
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Samsung 551

Posted15 May, 2011
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted15 May, 2011
" The only good thing about the phone is Android , the battery back up is poor . Outgoing emails have HTML tags attached. You cant have the Alarm if the phone is switched off. No , light indicator for receiving anything in inbox . Speaker phone is also not that good.
Overall not a very good experience. "
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: bad battery backup
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Galaxy 551
Customer Avatar
From bhopal
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Posted14 May, 2011
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted14 May, 2011
" used it and found very poor in performace.& i suggest camera should b 5 mp with flash "
Cons: Poor quality, Too big, Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Galaxy 551
Customer Avatar
From bangalore
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Posted14 March, 2011
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted14 March, 2011
" I bought sAmsung 551 for the option of Qwerty with touch pad. While making/receiving call, difficult to turn off if we escape from the onecreen option. Good features but bad experience. Went dead all of a sudden on 6th day of purchase while on a call and the problem is non rectifiable leading to replacement. "
Pros: Bright display
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.